What's the point of HTML

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

Lleu

What's the point of HTML

Postby Lleu » Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:07 am UTC

So I'm new to computers. Spent all day learning HTML. Excited by my new knowledge, I went online, looked for a thingy giving free webhosting, and prepared to put my skills to the test. Then I found out that it was mostly done with a more advanced editor that let you create text boxes and wrote the HTML for you. It's kind of disappointing. Is there any way I could write a webpage the 'hardcore' way?

ConMan
Shepherd's Pie?

Re: What's the point of HTML

Postby ConMan » Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:24 am UTC

Most of the time, if there is an application that will create HTML for you based on a GUI or similar set-up, it will fall into one of two categories (sometimes both):

1) It will do so little that a day's worth of teaching yourself HTML will let you do more than it can; or
2) It will be incredibly flexible and do lots of things, but the HTML it generates is so incredibly ugly it causes web designers' eyes to implode (for a wonderful demonstration of this, try showing a designer a web page you wrote in MS Word).

Sometimes, you will hit (1) but with the ability to twerk the HTML so it can do a lot more - the old Geocities was like that to a point. I think to do more you have to find a better host, which you may or may not need to pay for.
pollywog wrote:
Wikihow wrote:* Smile a lot! Give a gay girl a knowing "Hey, I'm a lesbian too!" smile.
I want to learn this smile, perfect it, and then go around smiling at lesbians and freaking them out.

davedrowsy

Postby davedrowsy » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:25 pm UTC