Resources for learning system design.

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

nadbor

Resources for learning system design.

Postby nadbor » Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:55 pm UTC

I'm interviewing with google and palantir and have others queued in case these two reject me. One topic they ask about which I'm not quite comfortable with is system design. By system design I mean mostly two things:
- object -oriented - UML sketching type of questions, often quite abstract like "design class hierarchy for a parking lot"
- more practical, performance oriented design - "how would you design youtube search feature"
I am not very good at either of these and have no idea how to practice them. Learning to solve algorithmic problems if not easy is at least straight forward. You read about the basic techniques and then practice them by solving problems from sites like leetcode or spoj until you feel confident. If you can't solve one, you read other people's solutions until you start seeing the patterns. As far as I know nothing like this process exists for system design questions. There are of course books on software architecture but they seem much too general to be of much use in the context of interview prep. I understand why it is harder to write a book "1001 system design problems and solutions" than "1001 tree traversal problems and solutions" but I don't think it's impossible. "Cracking the coding interview" for example contains a couple of such problems that I found very helpful - it's just that there were not nearly enough of them. Does anyone know of any resources for learning these things (books, blogs, videos - anything). Question - answer type of thing would be perfect, but I will take anything I can get.

I have asked this question on stackoverflow
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/22027599/resources-to-learn-solving-system-design-interview-problems