What programing language is best for complete beginners?

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

cha0tic

What programing language is best for complete beginners?

Postby cha0tic » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:38 am UTC

I've decided to learn how to program but i'm confused as to which language to start with. Can anyone give me some suggestions?

PhoenixEnigma

Re: What programing language is best for complete beginners?

Postby PhoenixEnigma » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:42 am UTC

What kind of applications do you plan on programming? Also, is this just going to be a bit of a hobby, or do you plan on becoming fairly serious about this? Related to that - are you thinking of learning just one language and sticking mostly to that, or learning several over time and want to know where to start?
"Optimism, pessimism, fuck that; we're going to make it happen. As God is my bloody witness, I'm hell-bent on making it work." -Elon Musk
Shivahn wrote:I am a motherfucking sorceror.

cha0tic

Postby cha0tic » Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:28 am UTC

I'm going to try and learn one language to start with and after i'm fairly familiar with it i'll try and tackle other languages. For now I just plan on coding as a hobby but once i'm fairly decent I may attempt to pursue a career in the field. As to what kinds of applications I plan to be coding i'm not really sure yet :|.

masher

Postby masher » Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:36 am UTC

Then everyone is probably going to say Python.

Earlz
Gets Obvious Implications

Postby Earlz » Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:58 am UTC

masher wrote:Then everyone is probably going to say Python.

No no, 75% will say Python and 25% will say Ruby..

I happen to recommend Ruby because it's awesome... but I've recently been doing bits of stuff with Python(like the Postgres PL/Python) and it's not bad... just different from Ruby... and I still of course prefer Ruby lol
My new blag(WIP, so yes it's still ugly..)
DEFIANCE!