PHP Ackermann's Implementation

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

whaatt

PHP Ackermann's Implementation

Postby whaatt » Sat Apr 24, 2010 1:18 am UTC

Edit: Just so you know, I am self-taught up to this point, so please forgive any silly errors :D ..This is also my first post on here.

Arggh. :? I've been trying to create an implementation of Ackermann's function in PHP (for Project Euler, if you must know), and it works for small(ish) numbers, but if I enter anything relatively high like (m,n) -> (6,6), the program doesn't work. Any ideas (code below)? Thanks!

Code: Select all

<?php
function ackermann($x,$y)
   {
   if ($x != 0)
      {
      if ($x > 0 && $y == 0)
         {
         return ackermann($x-1,1);
         }
      if ($x > 0 && $y > 0)
         {
         return ackermann($x-1,ackermann($x, $y-1));
         }
      }

else
      {
      return $y + 1;
      }
   }

echo ackermann(m,n);
//m,n is replaced by the values you want to find the Ackermann value for.
?>
echo "Dang. Forgot Semicolon."

fazzone

Re: PHP Ackermann's Implementation

Postby fazzone » Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:44 am UTC

Well, I'm pretty sure PHP's integers aren't bignums by default. Though I am also pretty sure that PHP provides a arbitrary precision library of some kind.

Basically, the integer types that you are using aren't big enough to compute something as mindbogglingly large as the result of an Ackermann function. The integer is a fixed size in bits, and when you add one to a number like 11111111111111111, you just wrap around to 000000000000000000 again. And this is likely causing problems.