Object Oriented Programming... In Java!

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

shinigami

Object Oriented Programming... In Java!

Postby shinigami » Tue May 18, 2010 5:23 am UTC

Ok, so I'm trying to get a clear picture of just exactly how to make my code properly 'object oriented'. I'm studying this in uni, almost failed my first assessment because it wasn't OO enough (although the code did what it was supposed to do).

From what I gather so far (and I'm posting here to see if i'm wrong), Object Oriented Programming really is just the simplifying of your code into things analogous to real world objects. The internet and my textbook (Intro to Java programming, Liang) are rather vague about these concepts.

So, does anyone on this forum know of any good OOP resources I should read?

I think my problem was not using enough 'classes' in my last project. Stuffing most of my features into just a few classes. And too much code sitting in the main, when I could have just given it its own class. The way i'm going to go in the next one currently will be to split off everything into it's own class, and try and keep as little in the main as possible.

Aaeriele

Re: Object Oriented Programming... In Java!

Postby Aaeriele » Tue May 18, 2010 8:32 am UTC

shinigami wrote:I think my problem was not using enough 'classes' in my last project. Stuffing most of my features into just a few classes. And too much code sitting in the main, when I could have just given it its own class. The way i'm going to go in the next one currently will be to split off everything into it's own class, and try and keep as little in the main as possible.

This is probably it. Though honestly, there's a broad area which is "too much" or "too little" breakdown into classes.