Unit Testing Private Variables

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

compsciclay

Unit Testing Private Variables

Postby compsciclay » Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:49 pm UTC

I'm required to implement some unit tests for a team project for my Software Engineering class. We are implementing a game in C# using the XNA framework. I'm new to unit testing and I'm confused about how I should implement a test for several of our class' functions. For instance, we have a function called Movement in our Player class which(you guessed it) handles the main character's movement animations.

Code: Select all

private void Movement()
        {
            isMoving = false;

if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.Left))
            {
                isMoving = true;
                directionOfMovement = SpriteEffects.FlipHorizontally;
            }
            if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.Right))
            {
                isMoving = true;
                directionOfMovement = SpriteEffects.None;
            }

// If player uses WASD keys to move the sprite
            if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.A))
            {
                isMoving = true;
                directionOfMovement = SpriteEffects.FlipHorizontally;
            }
            if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.D))
            {
                isMoving = true;
                directionOfMovement = SpriteEffects.None;
            }
        }