Understanding Fast-Growing Functions

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Carlington

Understanding Fast-Growing Functions

Postby Carlington » Sat Jan 11, 2014 3:05 pm UTC

I've recently started looking at what's been dubbed "googology" - the pursuit of extremely large numbers. It seems to be quite an interesting area, with the internet and the ability to collaborate and share your work spurring lots and lots of people into it. I'm fairly new at this, and don't really understand some of the more subtle concepts as you get higher and higher up the chain, but I have a firm grasp on the basic ideas that seem to underpin most of the field.

The largest computable number (or one of the largest, anyway) listed on the Googology Wiki (reputable sources, woo!) is Loader's Number. This number is the output of loader.c, which is a program that's output is defined as D5(99), where D(k) is the sum of all possible bit strings described by the first k expressions of the calculus of constructions (encoding everything as binary numbers). What confuses me is why they've stopped there. Is it just an arbitrary stopping point, because people would rather focus on trying to prove that certain smaller numbers are bigger or smaller than other smaller numbers? Or is there some sort of limit that is being approached, in terms of computability? Why, for example, haven't we gone to D6(99)? Or D5(100), or DD(99)(99)? What if I were to define a function E(k), where E(k) = DM(k), and M = DD...(k)(k), where we iterate D(k) D(k) times over, and in turn, iterate that process D(k) times over? At what point does this become uncomputable, and how do we know that?
Kewangji: Posdy zwei tosdy osdy oady. Bork bork bork, hoppity syphilis bork.

Eebster the Great: What specifically is moving faster than light in these examples?
doogly: Hands waving furiously.

Please use he/him/his pronouns when referring to me.

Moole