How to augment mathematical education?

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

P13808

How to augment mathematical education?

Postby P13808 » Thu May 08, 2014 10:29 pm UTC

So I'm in that situation where I'm studying mathematics at the undergrad level and really quite enjoy it, but I'm limited by credit hours and what the university actually offers in terms of classes and such. I have the luxury of excessive free time, and I want to spend at least some of it filling in holes, especially with the strong possibility of aiming for higher education in mathematics.

As it stands, I'll be taking linear algebra, a class on tex and maths literature and becoming a "professional mathematician", a year of analysis, abstract algebra, combinatorics, each, three semesters of calculus (two down), and experimental maths (computer-generated proofs and such). Also doing some as-of-yet unknown computer science courses.

Right now I'm teaching myself some number theory and formal logic, since both seem useful. I doubt I'll have time for Diff Eq, especially since I'm more pure-oriented, and the class, according to my advisor, is aimed at people who will be applying it (like engineers). So I'll find a text and work through the problemsets as much as I can. Also working with the complex numbers. Statistical analysis and probability also seem useful, though I may be able to take one as a class. I do not know how much discrete mathematics (seemingly omnipresent subject) would be redundant with the other stuff already covered. I also don't know where else to go.

So, thread topic and all, what would you say are good/useful/interesting/fun things to learn in mathematics? And which, if only some can be done with the support of faculty, etc., are better done with such support than trying to self-learn?

Qaanol
The Cheshirest Catamount

Re: How to augment mathematical education?

Postby Qaanol » Thu May 08, 2014 11:33 pm UTC