Quadratic Reciprocity

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

desiresjab

Quadratic Reciprocity

Postby desiresjab » Fri Feb 12, 2016 9:52 am UTC

No one ever called it simple. When something eludes Euler for forty years you can make a wild guess it is pretty deep.

I can state the law, I can calculate the Legendre symbol for any two primes, I can follow Eiesenstein's lattice point proof, I have a handle on Euler's criterion and Gauss's lemma, et al.

Yet that is not enough. I insist on seeing plumb through the law until I can hold it in one thought and do so by peering only at numbers. I do not want any help from groups, subgroups, cosets or symmetries. Maybe I expect to find something that hides behind a tree by shining a flashlight into the forest without going in.

If I were an expert in group theory the answer might pop right out at me in spite of myself--but I am not an expert there. I believe it must be possible to see what I am looking for by the naked light of numbers without resort to higher abstractions.

I look for the actual mechanism, not a proof or a restatement of the law or facts surrounding it. Since it is a law of numbers, it must be possible to see its mechanism through numbers alone.

In particular, I only need to see the mechanism that makes primes of the type 4n+3 behave toward each other the way they do when squared under the other's modulus. If I see this clearly, the rest of the theory for 4n+1 primes and mixed couples will shake right out. In the end, there has to be a mechanical reason which prevents two 4n+3 primes from having the same character.

If you could explain it in the terms I demand, there is no guarantee I would understand you. What I guarantee is the same mighty effort I have put in so far as an amateur in the field.

Cauchy

Re: Quadratic Reciprocity

Postby Cauchy » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:28 am UTC