Math Summer 2010 Dilemma

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

qinwamascot

Math Summer 2010 Dilemma

Postby qinwamascot » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:01 am UTC

I hope you all can give some helpful advice. Unfortunately, no one around me seems to be able to answer in a reasonable way.

I'm interested in persuing mathematical physics in Grad school. Currently, I'm an undergrad sophomore, and my current interest is in application of representation theory to Quantum Field Theory. I'm also interested in string theory. Basically, physics that is theoretical enough that most physics departments wouldn't be the right place to research it. But luckilly, many top schools have math departments with programs in mathematical physics.

Ideally, I'd like to get into a top-tier school, like Princeton, Harvard, or MIT. I come from a second tier state school, the University of Oklahoma. I'm far ahead of the program, having taken almost exclusively graduate classes in my second year, including an introductory course on QFT and the basic Ph.D. qualifying courses in math. I'm pretty sure my application will be seriously considered despite the school I come from. I also have a decent shot at a Goldwater scholarship this year.