Tricky limit problem for a calculus course

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

skullturf

Tricky limit problem for a calculus course

Postby skullturf » Tue Nov 16, 2010 5:50 pm UTC

This is not homework. In fact, I am a college-level math instructor who's composing a test today, and I'm not including this particular problem because it appears too tricky.

However, it's always possible I missed a clever shortcut.

The problem: Find the limit of ( log(n-1)/log(n) )^n as n approaches infinity.

I'm confident I know the answer, and I'm pretty sure I have a way to prove it, but I am curious if there are other ways or if I am missing a clever shortcut.

LaserGuy

Re: Tricky limit problem for a calculus course

Postby LaserGuy » Tue Nov 16, 2010 6:14 pm UTC

skullturf wrote:This is not homework. In fact, I am a college-level math instructor who's composing a test today, and I'm not including this particular problem because it appears too tricky.

I'm confident I know the answer, and I'm pretty sure I have a way to prove it, but I am curious if there are other ways or if I am missing a clever shortcut.

It looks to me like it goes to 1.

[math]\Big(\frac{\log (n-1)}{\log n}\Big)^n = \frac{n\log(n-1)}{n\log n}[/math]
[math]=\frac{log(n-1)}{log n}[/math]

Use L'Hopital's rule since we're in an infinity/infinity situation (the answer should be pretty obvious from here anyway):

[math]= \frac{\frac{1}{n-1}}{\frac{1}{n}} = \frac{n}{n-1} = 1- \frac{1}{n-1}[/math]

Take the limit as n goes to infinity, and the fraction in the right-hand term vanishes. Hence, the limit is 1. Unless I've made some outrageous abuse of mathematics, which is possible too.

skullturf

Postby skullturf » Tue Nov 16, 2010 6:18 pm UTC

LaserGuy wrote:
skullturf wrote:This is not homework. In fact, I am a college-level math instructor who's composing a test today, and I'm not including this particular problem because it appears too tricky.