Exercises in Kunen's Introduction to Independence Proofs

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Desiato

Exercises in Kunen's Introduction to Independence Proofs

Postby Desiato » Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:29 pm UTC

Let me start by clarifying this is not homework. While I got a math degree, that was quite a few years ago, and these days I work in a completely unrelated area.

However, I've always been fascinated with the big topics of logic and set theory, and so I'm now working my way through Kunen's book, including the exercises.

And I got a little hang-up there now, in the first chapter exercise 5 (yes, I'm rusty).

Here's the objective: Let a be a limit ordinal. Show that the following are equivalent:
(A) F.a. b, c < a: b+c<a
(B) F.a. b<a: b+a=a
(C) F.a. X subset of a: type(X) = a or type(a\X) = a
(D) a = omegadelta for some ordinal delta

The bit I'm having issues with here is (C) - I've gotten the equivalence for the (A), (B) and (D). And while I'm certain it's really just a stupid little thing I'm overlooking, I just don't see it. My initial thought was to work via type(X) + type(a\X), but that sum can (err, note the current forum madness, that's a "c a n") be < a even for limit ordinals (consider X the final omega segment of omega2 + omega) - I believe "=" only happens for indecomposable ordinals - i.e. the ones of this type.

Note that Cantor normal form is the next exercise (to which this one is meant to lead), so that can't be used. Any pointers?

Deedlit

Re: Exercises in Kunen's Introduction to Independence Proofs

Postby Deedlit » Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:40 am UTC

One direction is easy: if (A) is false, then for some b,c < a we have b+c >= a. b+c >=a implies a\b can be order injected into c, so type (a\b) <= type (c) < a, and of course type (b) = b < a, so (C) is false.

For the other direction, we prove (D) => (C) by induction on delta.

For a = omega, either X or a\X will be infinite, and thus have type omega.