A good idea?

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

CrackTheSky

A good idea?

Postby CrackTheSky » Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:02 pm UTC

Hello, I'm new here. You all seem like intelligent people who could possibly give me some good life advice based on your own experiences, so I figure here would be a good place to ask for some.

In order to understand my question, it will help to know a little background about me (forgive me if this gets a bit lengthy; I do tend to write a lot). I am currently a sophomore in college, my intended major is physics (though *technically* I'm still undeclared, but I've more or less made the decision, that 'more-or-less' being the reason for this thread, as you'll see). The thing is, though, before this year of school I had never taken any physics classes, nor had I taken any math classes since my senior year of high school (and the most advanced math class I took - pre-calc - I took my junior year).

So, as you can imagine, I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed right now. I'm in my college's Calculus I course, and I thoroughly enjoy it - my grade doesn't reflect it but I understand most of the material and over the past few years I've come to the conclusion that I really love math. There's an elegant beauty to it that I really just adore, and learning it is something I truly enjoy.

However, I didn't decide this until rather recently, and last year I went into college intending to major in psychology. After taking a few psych courses, however, I realized that continuing down that road would probably drive me crazy - I tend to think in very black-and-white terms, and psychology, being nothing but shades of gray, became very frustrating to learn.