Research

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

telcontar42

Research

Postby telcontar42 » Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:50 am UTC

So, I'm sitting here in a lab at 3:35 AM waiting for a finish taking a measurement so I can go to sleep, and I was wondering what kind of research other people in xkcdland are involved in. It's a pretty science oriented community so I'm sure there are plenty of people doing some pretty interesting work.

As for myself, I'm an undergraduate in physics. I've been working in a polymer physics lab for a couple of years now. I am mainly looking at the crystal structure of a few polymers, such as PVDF (a piezoelectric material) and PET (used in many soda bottles). I mostly use dielectric spetroscopy (applying an alternating electric field to the material and looking at how the movement of electric dipoles in the material effect the field) and x-ray diffractometry (hitting the material with a beam of x-rays and watching how they scatter to determine the periodicity of the molecules, which tells you about the crystal structure). Right now I'm at Brookhaven National Labratory using the synchotron light source here (that's why I'm working at 4 in the morning, we only have limited time to use this equipment, I don't usually work through the night). It's pretty cool to be working with an accelerator, even if I'm just using one of the many beam lines off of it.

So what kind of research are you doing or have you done in the past? I was particulary thinking about science, but if people are doing research in other fields that would certainly be cool to hear about too.

hitokiriilh

Re: Research

Postby hitokiriilh » Sun Aug 17, 2008 8:27 am UTC