Help! Need more graphic representations of science!

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

ThreeLawsSafe

Help! Need more graphic representations of science!

Postby ThreeLawsSafe » Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:37 pm UTC

So...I'm a freshman in college and I've met some interesting people so far, one of which is my roommate. He has some...interesting religious views, the prominent of them being his belief in creationism. Now, I'm an atheist and since I'm taking a human evolution course, we get into many debates about evolution. Eventually, I got tired with him constantly just ignoring all the scientific evidence for evolution, and I printed out a picture of "Science. It works, bitches." and posted it in the room. It's become a kind of friendly contest between us now (he responded with "Faith. It saves."). I'm planning on putting up more pictures that promote science, such as a time line of the evolution of life and the table of elements.

So, I was wondering if any one in the xkcd community might have any ideas? The point of this isn't to try to make him give up his religious beliefs. It's so that I can keep my sanity for the rest of the year. Any ideas are much appreciated.

PS - Sorry if this topic doesn't belong in the Science section; I wasn't sure of where else to put it.

(edit: fixed stupid typos. Sorry!)
Last edited by ThreeLawsSafe on Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:31 am UTC, edited 1 time in total.
That's not gneiss.
GENERATION 22: The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.

rho

Re: Help! Need more graphic representations of science!

Postby rho » Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:20 pm UTC

Probably too far:

More seriously:

Hubble Deep Field FTW:
Spoiler:

This was taken from Cassini, the white dot to the upper left is Earth:
Spoiler:

Always good to have one of these about:
Spoiler: