Projectile Motion w/ Drag... help?

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

FiveFinger

Projectile Motion w/ Drag... help?

Postby FiveFinger » Tue May 19, 2009 1:08 pm UTC

(Just a bit of stage setting- I am a high school student, but this is a personal inquiry and the physics teacher is out for a week, and my google-fu has failed miserably.)

Well, obviously, w/o drag, the equations are simple.

Vertical
d(t) = vit + 1/2gt2
v(t) = vi + gt
a(t) = g

Horizontal
d(t) = vit
v(t) = vi
a(t) = 0

But that's really simplified- that assumes an unchanging force of gravity. But for the moment, I just want to start including the effects of drag.

k(vwind - vobject)2 = Fwind = ma = a (assuming mass = 1)

Vertical
a(t) = g + k(vwind - vobject)2

Horizontal
a(t) = k(vwind - vobject)2

That's where I get stuck... and I'm not sure I even have a correct acceleration equation. But I'd like to be able to create d(t) and v(t) equations as well.

So... help? Either through equations or redirecting me to a site, where upon you may mock my google-fu.

Interactive Civilian

Re: Projectile Motion w/ Drag... help?

Postby Interactive Civilian » Tue May 19, 2009 2:00 pm UTC

Does the Wikipedia article about Trajectories help at all? It has a section on the trajectory of a projectile with air resistance.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballistic_trajectory
I (x2+y2-1)3-x2y3=0 science.

ThinkerEmeritus

Postby ThinkerEmeritus » Tue May 19, 2009 4:42 pm UTC

FiveFinger wrote:(Just a bit of stage setting- I am a high school student, but this is a personal inquiry and the physics teacher is out for a week...)