A physics question.

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

McClueless

A physics question.

Postby McClueless » Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:02 am UTC

hi ladies n' gents.

here is a simple (not for me..) physics question. Before you say i am a stupid douche bag, i have no prior experience with physics except for 'Rates of Change' stuff that i did last year in maths.-i am currently trying the learn the laws of motion, hence the question.

here is question;

"An object is positioned on a frictionless surface inclined at 20degrees to the horizontal, given that the acceleration due to gravity is 9.81 (meters per second, per second), what is the component of gravitational acceleration down the plane?"

~we were given the answer which is: 3.36 (meters per second, per second).

I honestly don's have the slightest clue about how to do this. If you could give me a step by step including the formula you use that would be great :mrgreen: .

edgey

Re: A physics question.

Postby edgey » Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:25 am UTC

I am too lazy to make a diagram right now, but as a thought exercise, you're walking up a hill.
The hill in this sense is your "plane". When it's at zero degrees, gravity's force is completely perpendicular to the plane, 9.81m/s^2.
As the hill gets steeper, you're still walking on the plane, and therefore less gravity affects you perpendicular to the plane, and more parallel to it.
Imagine 10 degrees, (completely made up numbers) you might have 1m/s^2 parallel, 9 m/s^2 perpendicular (it's still not very steep)
You can feel that it's harder just to make a "horizontal" (parallel to the plane) movement, whereas before it was fine. When you get to 45 degrees, it's getting pretty hard just to move, at that point you have equal amounts of gravity acting on you perpendicular and parallel to the plane.