Regarding the Quantum Mechanics of Electrons

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Anthyo

Regarding the Quantum Mechanics of Electrons

Postby Anthyo » Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:20 pm UTC

As a preface to the question proper, I'd have you know that I am a high school physics student. I would approximate my level of knowledge as that of a student who has finished his first year of college physics courses. My knowledge of anything beyond Newtonian mechanics and basic electromagnetism is sketchy at best.

Regarding the electron cloud of an atom - I am told that electrons move about an atom randomly. That is, they do not obey any direct observable laws of motion. Rather, each electron has a certain zone about which it moves willy-nilly and it may be anywhere in that zone at any given time. Due to the Heisenberg uncertainty principle (is this a product of human limitations or is it bona fide unknowable?)we cannot know the location and velocity of an electron simultaneously. My questions are thus:

Are electrons still subject to normal laws of motion? That is, are electrons' motion still describable in terms of electrostatic forces and gravity despite the fact that they move so fast we cannot observe these interactions? Could their motion be predicted in theory? Would, for example, Laplace's Demon be able to tell us where an electron was and where it was headed based on its precise knowledge and application of such forces? Or is there something entirely different going on here?
sagekilla wrote:That's what science is after all: Blowing up shit and seeing what happens.

Tass

Re: Regarding the Quantum Mechanics of Electrons

Postby Tass » Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:34 pm UTC