Time

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Dark Tranquillity

Time

Postby Dark Tranquillity » Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:37 am UTC

Hey guys, physics newbie here. I've read a lot on it yet never really understood some things. One of these is how time itself can begin and end. I've always read and heard that time began with the big bang, and would cease to exist with the death of the Universe. Can someone explain this to me in layman's terms?

thoughtfully

Re: Time

Postby thoughtfully » Sun Nov 28, 2010 7:39 pm UTC

There's two approaches. The classical analogy is viewing the Universe as a 4D sphere, with time as the radial dimension. The center is obviously a fixed endpoint. You can also arrange things so that time is more like North/South on a globe. You can't go south from the South Pole.

The more "quantumy" approach supposes there is a smallest interval of time about which it makes any sense to talk. This would be on the order of the Plank Time. "Time" begins when the Universe reaches this age, because you can't say anything about a Universe that's younger.
Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
-- Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Technical Ben

Postby Technical Ben » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:44 pm UTC

Would a more simple explanation not be: Without anything to measure, how can we measure time? So if there was nothing before the universe, and nothing after, how can we say there is time also?
It's all physics and stamp collecting.
It's not a particle or a wave. It's just an exchange.

Moose Hole

Postby Moose Hole » Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:30 pm UTC