Music. How and why?

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

userxp

Music. How and why?

Postby userxp » Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:24 pm UTC

I have always wondered what music is and why does it exist. I found some information about what parts of the brain process music (such as how amygdala damage impair recognition of scary music), and I was hoping you could help me with these questions:
  • What is the evolutionary purpose of music and rhythm?
  • What patterns are perceived as music?

frezik

Re: Music. How and why?

Postby frezik » Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:18 pm UTC

userxp wrote:

That's pretty open ended. You'd have to cover it in a course on Music Theory.
I do not agree with the beer you drink, but will defend to the death your right to drink it

Korrente

Postby Korrente » Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:18 pm UTC

I've wondered about this too ever since I started playing music. I've always assumed it's a byproduct of our brain's ability to pick out patterns from seemingly random data. I think we enjoy it because it flexes your brain's pattern-recognition muscle as you have to stay on top of the sound or you tune it out completely.

Western music is much more structured until you get right down to the physics, then things stop making sense (turns out half-steps are nowhere near equal in frequency change, even though they sound like it). But when you get into some types of Eastern music, things really do get down right random and I'm sure a lot of people wouldn't even call it music. But obviously it wouldn't have lasted if someone didn't enjoy randomly hitting drums and chimes. So culture has a lot to do with how you're taught to perceive the patterns as well.

This isn't going to answer any questions, but they're some things I find interesting: