Centrifugal Force Query

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Prelates, Moderators General

Centrifugal Force Query

Postby tronton_ » Wed May 04, 2011 9:25 am UTC

Just a simple question, use as much detail as you like in answering it.

I'm a high-school Physics student, and my Physics teacher said Centrifugal Force doesn't actually exist. After being a long time reader of xkcd, I've seen Centrifugal Force mentioned a couple of times. So, I thought I'd research it, mostly I've found sources saying it doesn't exist, but I've also found that it is measurable with a formula. So, I'm not 100% sure about it, can someone please explain it to me?
tronton_

Re: Centrifugal Force Query

Postby Moose Hole » Wed May 04, 2011 2:13 pm UTC

I think it has something to do with inertial reference frames. Pretty much if the reference frame is rotating, then something outside the reference frame is rotating it. That outside thing is providing a centripetal force which is observable in its reference frame, but observed differently within the rotating reference frame. At this point I get confused so I'll stop.
Moose Hole

Postby Aiwendil » Wed May 04, 2011 2:14 pm UTC