Kelvin vs. Celsius

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Capt.Awesome

Kelvin vs. Celsius

Postby Capt.Awesome » Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:54 pm UTC

So, with 83+ pages of topics in "Science" I decided just to start a new topic for my question

I am an AP chemistry student and I came across a slight problem when converting between Kelvin and Celsius.
When you convert from Celsius to Kelvin you simply add 273.15 to the Celsius temperature. that part is easy. But when I tripple the number they should be the same.
i.e. if I take 6C and I tripple it I get 18C. When I convert 6C into Kelvin I get 279.15K. When I tripple 279.15K and convert back into Celsius (873K -273= 564C) I get 564C. These are obviously off a little bit.
Which is correct? What am I doing wrong, and why is it wrong?

Tass

Re: Kelvin vs. Celsius

Postby Tass » Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:13 pm UTC

Capt.Awesome wrote:So, with 83+ pages of topics in "Science" I decided just to start a new topic for my question

I am an AP chemistry student and I came across a slight problem when converting between Kelvin and Celsius.
When you convert from Celsius to Kelvin you simply add 273.15 to the Celsius temperature. that part is easy. But when I tripple the number they should be the same.
i.e. if I take 6C and I tripple it I get 18C. When I convert 6C into Kelvin I get 279.15K. When I tripple 279.15K and convert back into Celsius (873K -273= 564C) I get 564C. These are obviously off a little bit.
Which is correct? What am I doing wrong, and why is it wrong?

Why should you triple it? Multiplying a temperature only makes physical sense on the absolute (that is: Kelvin) scale. 2C is not "twice as hot" as 1C.