What are some fun things to do to "fill-up" time in class?

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

pernero

What are some fun things to do to "fill-up" time in class?

Postby pernero » Sun Nov 13, 2011 10:21 pm UTC

I'm a student teacher teaching Physics, Science, and Math. My greatest fear, especially in the Sciences, is that my lessons will run short on time. (ie. in a 70 minute period it will take 50 minutes to complete)

Hypothetically, let's say I'm teaching a Physics lesson based on q = Ne. I would finish the notes/discussion part in about 30 minutes and then ask some questions, which would take 20 minutes. In a 70 minute class, this leaves me with 20 minutes. At this point I feel like I can either go on to the next topic, assign more problems, or just dismiss class early.

XKCD-ers, what are some ways for me to "beef up" my lessons so that they never run short? Or what are some fun, yet educational ways to fill up that time?

One example, which worked reasonably well for me last year, was to end the class with a difficult problem, giving them the rest of the class to work on it, and then picking it up again the next day.

Much appreciated.

Afif_D

Re: What are some fun things to do to "fill-up" time in clas

Postby Afif_D » Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:03 am UTC

Fill the last part of the class with conceptual interesting questions that are fun to listen so as to enhance the students conception and get their interest

Like if you teach the students conditional probability, you can ask em," Suppose I toss a coin N times and get a 'head's.. then what is the probability that i get a 'head' in the (N+1)th toss?" This has a simple answer of (1/2) because the events considered in here are independent.. hOwever many will get confused.

You can ask like this questions for science as well..

yurell

Postby yurell » Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:03 am UTC