Nuclear Power (merged threads)

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Haploanddogs

Nuclear Power (merged threads)

Postby Haploanddogs » Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:22 am UTC

So I have been reading the XKCD forums for a bit and there seems to be a lot of interest in Nuclear power, but not a lot of specific Knowledge. As I work in the Nuclear power industry, at LaSalle County plant in Illinois, I would be happy to answer any specific questions anyone has about it.

However I wanted to first clear a few things up that people seem to be missing in there admirable attempts to either promote nuclear power, or dismiss it.

1. "The Spent Fuel is not a problem because we it now has less energy than it did when we mined it"
-This is false as the problem with spent fuel is that it now has many decay products of U-238 and U-235 in it that would not normally exist. It is, when pulled from the reactor, many thousands of times more radioactive than when it was mined. It is fatal to the touch, and also emits copious amounts of heat. It must be stored for many years in a pool to allow it to cool off and let the radioactivity approach a more reasonable level.

2. "Three-Mile Island was Human Error"
-This is only partly true. Three mile island was a combination of many failures of equipment, such as a pressure relief value in the vessel, of personnel, and of planning. The first two layers of containment, the fuel itself and the fuel cladding both failed from excessive heat flux. However the next three layers of containment held. The amount of radioactivity released was very small, and I find it unlikely that anyone would die from it.

3. "Nuclear Power is perfectly safe/Won't kill anyone"