Lyrical Assistance

Things that don't belong anywhere else. (Check first).

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

Kewangji
Has Been Touched

Lyrical Assistance

Postby Kewangji » Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:30 pm UTC

Dear everybody,

I've been listening to this song since it came out three years ago (not continuously) and there are a few bits of the lyrics that I'm just not getting. I'm asking y'all to help me rap-genuis this thing. This is a noble quest and probably people from the North of England, Northumberland specifically, would be very helpful. But I'll take any help I can get by this point. I've emailed the band and they did not reply, possibly because no-one reads fan-mail, possibly because they're humans and meant to do it but forgot. Please help me understand this haunting song. Here is the song:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k7GSI-4yZKg

Here are the almost complete lyrics, annotated to the best of my knowledge.

The Unthanks, Black Trade wrote:All you welders and riveters and boiler-smiths and plate-men1
You gaugers2 and pipe-fitters, sparks3 and sheet-metalworkers
You riggers and copper-smiths, red letters4 and hard drinkers
Cailers and laquers5, you pullers and tappers6

1 All good so far. It's a list of blue collar jobs in the docks. I'm guessing a plate-man fastens plates, or maybe fashions them.
2 A gauger is someone who inspects "dutiable bulks" in the loading/unloading-process of ships coming and going.
3 A spark could be someone who cuts metal with a blowtorch?
4 I read somewhere, once, that red-letter men were slightly above most workers in the hierarchy and did some of the supervising/inspection, but all I can find when I google this now is that red-letter men has to do with red-letter days, i.e. holidays, so red-letter men would be saints. I think that bit is unlikely .