Firefox 2

Things that don't belong anywhere else. (Check first).

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

Jack Saladin
X is kiss
Posts: 4445
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:22 am UTC
Location: Aotearoa

Firefox 2

Postby Jack Saladin » Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:04 am UTC

Is out! As nerds I thought you should all know.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

User avatar
Peshmerga
Mad Hatter
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:56 am UTC
Contact:

Postby Peshmerga » Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:15 am UTC

And how exactly is this "better"?
i hurd u liek mudkips???

Jack Saladin
X is kiss
Posts: 4445
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:22 am UTC
Location: Aotearoa

Postby Jack Saladin » Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:22 am UTC

Well, about a billion times more stable and secure for one. Then a bunch of development stuff.

In stuff you'll notice; there's a spell check (floopedy is underlined in red for me right now) for text boxes like the one I'm typing in, complete with spelling suggestions on right click. There's an 'Open Recently Closed Tab' thing. If Firefox crashes, you can restore your state exactly, with what tabs were open etc. Few other things.

No reason not to get it though, if you use Firefox anyway.

User avatar
Peshmerga
Mad Hatter
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:56 am UTC
Contact:

Postby Peshmerga » Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:28 am UTC

wel i aint dern nawt ned dis stoppod speerl chequers

it is pretty nifty though :)

Gotterdammerung

Aww it doesn't pick up on ancient Germanic mythology :P
i hurd u liek mudkips???

Jack Saladin
X is kiss
Posts: 4445
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:22 am UTC
Location: Aotearoa

Postby Jack Saladin » Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:28 am UTC

Yeah, I tried "leet" and it doesn't seem like Firefox is.

User avatar
grim4593
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:23 am UTC

Postby grim4593 » Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:20 am UTC

I'll check it out when I can get it through Ubuntu's repository... But Ubuntu 6.10 is coming out in a few days so I'll end up revamping most my system, and install firefox 2.0 then.

rlo
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:43 am UTC

Postby rlo » Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:31 am UTC

Normally when there's a Firefox upgrade it tells me so and gives me a choice of doing it right then or the next time I install firefox. Why's the download/install not automatic this time?

Jack Saladin
X is kiss
Posts: 4445
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:22 am UTC
Location: Aotearoa

Postby Jack Saladin » Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:35 am UTC

Because that's an automatic update to Firefox 1.5x. This is an entirely new Firefox, version 2.

rlo
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:43 am UTC

Postby rlo » Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:43 am UTC

Saladin wrote:Because that's an automatic update to Firefox 1.5x. This is an entirely new Firefox, version 2.

Oh. I still want them to ask me. It was very nice of them before.

User avatar
Jesse
Vocal Terrorist
Posts: 8635
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:33 pm UTC
Location: Basingstoke, England.
Contact:

Postby Jesse » Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:53 am UTC

I got this. The tab thing is now handier, and it looks vaguely prettier.

User avatar
wisnij
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 5:03 pm UTC
Location: a planet called Erp
Contact:

Postby wisnij » Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:58 am UTC

Looks pretty good, except for one thing... this isn't Firefox's fault, but some add-on authors need to start making compatible versions. I need my enhanced history manager back. :(

The text-field spellcheck is doubleplusgood, however.
I burn the cheese. It does not burn me.

User avatar
Hawknc
Oompa Loompa of SCIENCE!
Posts: 6986
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:14 am UTC
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby Hawknc » Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:01 pm UTC

I'm lovin the session save. It brought up all my tabs I had open before the power died here for a few minutes when I booted it back up again.

User avatar
MrBawn
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:52 pm UTC

Postby MrBawn » Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:53 pm UTC

Dammit. I'm getting a "site temporarily unavailable" for my favorite theme.

Never mind. Figured it out. How do I get rid of the "Go" button on the location bar?

User avatar
grim4593
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:23 am UTC

Postby grim4593 » Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:18 pm UTC

Hawknc wrote:I'm lovin the session save. It brought up all my tabs I had open before the power died here for a few minutes when I booted it back up again.


That was available in 1.5 using the tab mix plus extension. Can't live without it.

Kalten
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:39 am UTC
Location: England

Postby Kalten » Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:41 pm UTC

Loving the text box dictionary...but when will these things begin to realise (yes, not realize), we aren't all American, and so not come with US-English dictionary as default! A simple choice when we install would be nice!

Argh. I better go get a dictionary that knows how to spell things properly, before all these z's instead of s's and similar things drive me insane.
--------
Kalten

"If you are in a minority of one, the truth is still the truth" Gandhi

User avatar
Peshmerga
Mad Hatter
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:56 am UTC
Contact:

Postby Peshmerga » Wed Oct 25, 2006 5:56 pm UTC

Kalten wrote:Loving the text box dictionary...but when will these things begin to realise (yes, not realize), we aren't all American, and so not come with US-English dictionary as default! A simple choice when we install would be nice!

Argh. I better go get a dictionary that knows how to spell things properly, before all these z's instead of s's and similar things drive me insane.


Doesn't it ask you where you reside? I thought there were many dictionaries of most major countries, including Great Britian.
i hurd u liek mudkips???

Kalten
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:39 am UTC
Location: England

Postby Kalten » Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:11 pm UTC

Well, not in the initial install it didn't. It just expected me to go and find a dictionary and add it of my own accord. Without even telling me.

I wouldn't worry...just one of my (and a lot more English people's) pet hates about computers, is that we seem to be treated as American all the time. Especially with dictionaries.

So I needed to rant.
--------

Kalten



"If you are in a minority of one, the truth is still the truth" Gandhi

User avatar
Charodei
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 8:29 pm UTC

Postby Charodei » Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:26 pm UTC

I use 'color' (the 'ou' in 'colour' and such seems odd to me), but tend to use 'realise' rather than 'realize'.

I rather like Russian, which almost always has an unambiguous mapping between sounds and letters. There are a few cases where spelling and pronunciation don't match, but most follow one of two predictable patterns.

User avatar
theY4Kman
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:12 pm UTC
Location: Behind you.
Contact:

Postby theY4Kman » Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:43 pm UTC

Using PHP, you can tell the country of the user visiting. It probably knew you were from England (Where it is *English*, though a slight difference form American), and decided to give you an English install.
<3 Rela82me: "I use Windows because I'm too poor for Mac and too stupid for Linux."

User avatar
no-genius
Seemed like a good idea at the time
Posts: 4221
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 6:32 pm UTC
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby no-genius » Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:30 pm UTC

The tools> options window is too small. Is there an add-on to fix this?
I don't sing, I just shout. All. On. One. Note.
Official ironmen you are free, champions officially

The Mighty Thesaurus wrote:Why? It does nothing to address dance music's core problem: the fact that it sucks.

User avatar
Peshmerga
Mad Hatter
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:56 am UTC
Contact:

Postby Peshmerga » Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:52 pm UTC

no-genius wrote:The tools> options window is too small. Is there an add-on to fix this?


How could it possibly be "too small" ?
Last edited by Peshmerga on Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:15 pm UTC, edited 1 time in total.
i hurd u liek mudkips???

Jack Saladin
X is kiss
Posts: 4445
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:22 am UTC
Location: Aotearoa

Postby Jack Saladin » Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:08 pm UTC

... You can see all the options without having to scroll or anything, how's it too small?

User avatar
no-genius
Seemed like a good idea at the time
Posts: 4221
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 6:32 pm UTC
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby no-genius » Wed Oct 25, 2006 11:16 pm UTC

Saladin wrote:... You can see all the options without having to scroll or anything, how's it too small?


but i cant see all the options - can't see system defaults. i need that to reload the proxy i use.
I don't sing, I just shout. All. On. One. Note.
Official ironmen you are free, champions officially

The Mighty Thesaurus wrote:Why? It does nothing to address dance music's core problem: the fact that it sucks.

User avatar
gonzophysicist
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 9:06 pm UTC
Location: Si Valley
Contact:

Postby gonzophysicist » Thu Oct 26, 2006 5:52 am UTC

I dig being able to rearrange my tabs by dragging them around, though I'm going to have to get used to having a tab-closing button on each tab.
"Even so you will see that when a drunken man is not leaning against a wall or lamppost, he feels that his only chance of escape from ignominious collapse is get up a decent rate of speed, to obtain a quasi-sobriety of demeanour by rapidity of motion."

User avatar
rockintom99
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:28 am UTC
Location: Washingtonland!
Contact:

Postby rockintom99 » Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:26 am UTC

Ah, loving the firefox 2. Saved sessions are a nice thing, but it isn't whoring out my ram! Normally, by now, it would be up at 150+ megs of ram, but it is sitting at a stable 70 megs, and has been for the past couple hours. Hooray!

User avatar
Hawknc
Oompa Loompa of SCIENCE!
Posts: 6986
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:14 am UTC
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby Hawknc » Thu Oct 26, 2006 8:31 am UTC

You know, I didn't even think to check that. My RAM use is down too, which is great - 1.5 seemed to be a real hog in that respect. \o/

myoumyouou
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:52 am UTC
Location: perth. wa.
Contact:

Postby myoumyouou » Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:39 am UTC

i like it, its fantastic (:D
except i like my old themes
and i don't have any dark themes
everything you've ever thought about has been thought about before. think about it

User avatar
no-genius
Seemed like a good idea at the time
Posts: 4221
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 6:32 pm UTC
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby no-genius » Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:06 pm UTC

gonzophysicist wrote:I'm going to have to get used to having a tab-closing button on each tab.


You can get a close tab button from the firefox add-ons. its only about 5k i think!
I don't sing, I just shout. All. On. One. Note.
Official ironmen you are free, champions officially

The Mighty Thesaurus wrote:Why? It does nothing to address dance music's core problem: the fact that it sucks.

User avatar
Hawknc
Oompa Loompa of SCIENCE!
Posts: 6986
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:14 am UTC
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby Hawknc » Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:32 pm UTC

Am I the only person who uses MMB to close/open tabs?

User avatar
thomasjmaccoll
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:27 pm UTC
Location: cupar, fife, scotland
Contact:

Postby thomasjmaccoll » Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:30 pm UTC

Hawknc wrote:Am I the only person who uses MMB to close/open tabs?


i used to do this sometimes but mainly used the close tabs button at the end, i keep moving to that bit and being surprised there's no button there, i'll need to get that addon
slow down, you move too fast

ERTW
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:44 am UTC

Postby ERTW » Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:58 pm UTC

Hawknc wrote:Am I the only person who uses MMB to close/open tabs?


Nope.

User avatar
grim4593
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:23 am UTC

Postby grim4593 » Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:54 am UTC

Ok, tried it out. Its ok but so far has a couple things i dislike.
First: The session manager does not work.
Second: I have no control over the tabs or sessions until TabMixPlus updates. I hate having a close button on each tab, and that the tabs do not open in the background. Grrr...

User avatar
MrBawn
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:52 pm UTC

Postby MrBawn » Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:52 pm UTC

Try the extension "Tabbrowser Preferences".

User avatar
Pathway
Leon Sumbitches...?
Posts: 647
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:59 pm UTC

Postby Pathway » Sat Oct 28, 2006 5:33 am UTC

gonzophysicist wrote:I dig being able to rearrange my tabs by dragging them around, though I'm going to have to get used to having a tab-closing button on each tab.


No external addon needed. Type about:config in the address bar. No http://... , just 'about:config'

That gets you to a bunch of settings. Many of the names are fairly self-descriptive.

Find the one labeled browsers.tabs.closeButtons with the handy filter on the top of the page, and set it to 3. Ta-da!

Other useful ones:

browser.urlbar.hideGoButton -- was someone asking for this above?

browser.urlbar.autoFill -- it's a matter of preference, can speed things up if you're not a big bookmarker

browser.tabs.loadInBackground -- I habitually open categories of bookmarks or my daily-visited websites all at once to set up a stack of tabs I know I should go through on a particular topic or day, so this is handy.

browser.tabs.loadFolderAndReplace -- I highly recommend setting browser.tabs.loadFolderAndReplace to false, if you have folders of bookmarks on the links bar as I do. By default this is true so Firefox will replace your current tabs with the ones in the folder, starting with the first tab. Annoying if you want to stack up tabs for viewing.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests