getting started with C

"Please leave a message at the beep, we will get back to you when your support contract expires."

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

chrisgotter

getting started with C

Postby chrisgotter » Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:39 pm UTC

I am a CS student and I am trying to get a head start on my upcoming fall quarter. To this end I would like to learn C, I have had a hard time getting it set up on my PC, and was wondering if anyone could spare the time to walk me through this step by step or direct me to a good website that could help in this regard.
-chris

ahammel
My Little Cabbage

Re: getting started with C

Postby ahammel » Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:56 pm UTC

I like this book.

By "PC", do you mean "computer running Windows"? My understanding is that's a pretty painful environment to learn pure C in (although I've never tried). You may want to look into a Linux partition or VM.
He/Him/His/Alex
God damn these electric sex pants!

ycc1988

Postby ycc1988 » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:08 am UTC

http://www.mingw.org/wiki/Getting_Started/
If you ever advance to using makefiles, note that it's mingw32-make instead of plain make.

I don't know what book is best to get started, but one absolutely must own The C Programming Language. It's the C bible. It's also a very short book, C is not a complex language. That's what 3rd-party libraries are for.

FLHerne

Postby FLHerne » Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:19 am UTC

ahammel wrote:By "PC", do you mean "computer running Windows"? My understanding is that's a pretty painful environment to learn pure C in (although I've never tried). You may want to look into a Linux partition or VM.
Windows is a painful environment to learn pure C in (I did try :P ). Linux (or even OSX, as a UNIX-like system) is much easier. If you do, KATE with the terminal plugin at the bottom and the right highlighting/indenting makes a nice IDE :D .