Supreme Commander

Of the Tabletop, and other, lesser varieties.

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

ACU-LP
Posts: 2826
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:39 pm UTC
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby ACU-LP » Sat Mar 28, 2009 2:00 pm UTC

It works wonderfully; and even if they were to assist, it turns out that the assist function does not work on them; I think the amount of assistance a particular unit can give is a percentage of the originals capacity (in extreme cases like with an upgraded ACU, this can be above 100%, and as the initial is 0, no percentage will effect it.
It was interesting to observe however, that the AI was less aggressive at first; and after it had built only a couple of tml's, it decided to stop building them and continue with everything else. But by mid/end game it suddenly decided it was going to extremely quickly build and launch an 8 strong force of chicken bot experimentals.
Twas fun indeed.
Proper battles in which bases were damaged and then survived assaults rather than the steamrolled or unaffected, tendency of beforehand. Which made for some cool looking gameplay.
Thank you very much.
I Am Raven wrote:Math is like a penis: it can be very satisfactory, but also a pain in the ass.
Red vs Blue wrote:Wash: That was the worst throw ever. Of all time.
Caboose: Not my fault. Someone put a wall in my way.

User avatar
Gowerly
Toad
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:11 pm UTC
Location: Leamington Spa, UK.
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby Gowerly » Sat Mar 28, 2009 2:50 pm UTC

Assisting is merely a unit providing its own build power. I'm surprised assisting didn't work. Either way, good stuff.

ACU-LP
Posts: 2826
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:39 pm UTC
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby ACU-LP » Sun Mar 29, 2009 7:44 am UTC

Gowerly wrote:Assisting is merely a unit providing its own build power. I'm surprised assisting didn't work. Either way, good stuff.
Ah, but assists provide different amounts of help depending on what the thing being built is. But that's probably more balance I guess.
I Am Raven wrote:Math is like a penis: it can be very satisfactory, but also a pain in the ass.
Red vs Blue wrote:Wash: That was the worst throw ever. Of all time.
Caboose: Not my fault. Someone put a wall in my way.

User avatar
Gowerly
Toad
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:11 pm UTC
Location: Leamington Spa, UK.
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby Gowerly » Sun Mar 29, 2009 12:34 pm UTC

The thing being built has a build time, and the things building it have build powers.
For example, a t1 engineer has 5 build power, a t1 ACU has 10.
A t2 land factory has 40, so you would need to assist a t1 land factory with 8 t1 engineers to get something out twice as quickly.
a TML has a build power of 80, so you would need 16 to get the missile out twice as fast.
a Nuke launcher has a bulid power of 1080, so assisting it with anything less than 50-60 t1 engineers will have no noticable difference. You would need 216 t1 engineers to get the nuke done in 2.5, rather than 5, minutes.

User avatar
LuNatic
Posts: 973
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 4:21 am UTC
Location: The land of Aus

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby LuNatic » Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:50 am UTC

In Forged Alliance, isn't assisting nerfed to 50% build power?
Cynical Idealist wrote:
Velict wrote:Good Jehova, there are cheesegraters on the blagotube!

This is, for some reason, one of the funniest things I've read today.

User avatar
Gowerly
Toad
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:11 pm UTC
Location: Leamington Spa, UK.
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby Gowerly » Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:59 am UTC

Effectively, but it's because all units' build times have been doubled and all factories' build powers have doubled, which has the same effect as reducing assisting by 50%. Engineers still assist with their 5 build power, but as a t1 factory now has 20 build power rather than 10 and the unit has 300 build time rather than 150, say, the assist only does half as much. This isn't the case with nuke lanchers, which have had the same done to extreme levels. Nuke silos now have a build power of 1080, rather than whatever it was in vanilla, meaning you need 216 t1 engineers to get a 100% build speed improvement.

ACU-LP
Posts: 2826
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:39 pm UTC
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby ACU-LP » Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:35 am UTC

Gowerly wrote:Effectively, but it's because all units' build times have been doubled and all factories' build powers have doubled, which has the same effect as reducing assisting by 50%. Engineers still assist with their 5 build power, but as a t1 factory now has 20 build power rather than 10 and the unit has 300 build time rather than 150, say, the assist only does half as much. This isn't the case with nuke lanchers, which have had the same done to extreme levels. Nuke silos now have a build power of 1080, rather than whatever it was in vanilla, meaning you need 216 t1 engineers to get a 100% build speed improvement.
So whats the power of a t3 engineer/support commander?
I Am Raven wrote:Math is like a penis: it can be very satisfactory, but also a pain in the ass.
Red vs Blue wrote:Wash: That was the worst throw ever. Of all time.
Caboose: Not my fault. Someone put a wall in my way.

User avatar
headprogrammingczar
Posts: 3072
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:28 pm UTC
Location: Beaming you up

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby headprogrammingczar » Thu Apr 09, 2009 1:22 pm UTC

T1: 10, T2: 20, T3: 30.
<quintopia> You're not crazy. you're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Weeks> You're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Cheese> I love you

User avatar
Gowerly
Toad
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:11 pm UTC
Location: Leamington Spa, UK.
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby Gowerly » Thu Apr 09, 2009 1:27 pm UTC

T1 engineer: 5
T2 engineer: 10
T3 engineer: 15
Support Commander: 60 - With upgrade: 90
ACU no engineering upgrade: 10
ACU 1 engineering upgrade: 30
ACU both engineering upgrades: 90

User avatar
headprogrammingczar
Posts: 3072
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:28 pm UTC
Location: Beaming you up

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby headprogrammingczar » Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:33 pm UTC

Huh. I could have sworn it was like this:
headprogrammingczar wrote:T1: 10, T2: 20, T3: 30.

at some point.
<quintopia> You're not crazy. you're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Weeks> You're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Cheese> I love you

ACU-LP
Posts: 2826
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:39 pm UTC
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby ACU-LP » Fri Apr 10, 2009 1:29 am UTC

headprogrammingczar wrote:Huh. I could have sworn it was like this:
headprogrammingczar wrote:T1: 10, T2: 20, T3: 30.
at some point.
Maybe one of the patches? Or one of the mods?
I Am Raven wrote:Math is like a penis: it can be very satisfactory, but also a pain in the ass.
Red vs Blue wrote:Wash: That was the worst throw ever. Of all time.
Caboose: Not my fault. Someone put a wall in my way.

User avatar
headprogrammingczar
Posts: 3072
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:28 pm UTC
Location: Beaming you up

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby headprogrammingczar » Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:21 am UTC

Who knows? That game has changed its own rules more than TF2.
<quintopia> You're not crazy. you're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Weeks> You're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Cheese> I love you

User avatar
Internetmeme
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:16 pm UTC
Location: South Carolina, USA

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby Internetmeme » Sat Apr 11, 2009 4:16 pm UTC

True, true.

I have the game, and they really need to work with Stardock for AI. Stardock's AI in their games at the highest level of intelligence is awesome (they did Galactic Civilizations I and II and Sins of a Solar Empire).
Spoiler:

User avatar
headprogrammingczar
Posts: 3072
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:28 pm UTC
Location: Beaming you up

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby headprogrammingczar » Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:11 pm UTC

Internetmeme wrote:True, true.

I have the game, and they really need to work with Stardock Blizzard for AI. Stardock Blizzard's AI in their games at the highest level of intelligence is awesome (they did Galactic Civilizations I and II and Sins of a Solar Empire Starcraft).

Fixed. The Starcraft AI had almost every viable strategy programmed into it. It even did reaver drops. A few corsairs escorting a dropship filled with reavers flies in from behind and drops at the mineral piles. One volley kills all the drones, another couple gets the command center.
<quintopia> You're not crazy. you're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Weeks> You're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Cheese> I love you

User avatar
Internetmeme
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:16 pm UTC
Location: South Carolina, USA

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby Internetmeme » Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:28 pm UTC

/em is not really familiar with Starcraft
Spoiler:

User avatar
headprogrammingczar
Posts: 3072
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:28 pm UTC
Location: Beaming you up

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby headprogrammingczar » Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:41 am UTC

Internetmeme wrote:/em is not really familiar with Starcraft

:shock:

With a game like SupCom, don't even bother against the AI. Get some friends together and put all the computers in a row. Play against each other, and when someone does an 18 minute monkey lord, you can really take pleasure out of wasting his investment with a bunch of TMLs. Then he can enjoy punching you in the nads. You can't enjoy a game like this against an AI.
<quintopia> You're not crazy. you're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Weeks> You're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Cheese> I love you

User avatar
Gowerly
Toad
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:11 pm UTC
Location: Leamington Spa, UK.
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby Gowerly » Tue Apr 14, 2009 1:34 pm UTC

headprogrammingczar wrote:Who knows? That game has changed its own rules more than TF2.

The factories were 10, 20, 30 in vanilla Supreme Commander. The engineers never were.

PieceofPi
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:03 pm UTC

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby PieceofPi » Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:25 pm UTC

I (still) prefer Total Annihilation. Especially if you have the 1500 unit patch, and am playing 5v5 on a 63x63 map. (I've seen TA using 2719 MB of ram, by the way)

Edit:
I usually play modded TA.
Last edited by PieceofPi on Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:59 am UTC, edited 1 time in total.
I do not know where family doctors acquired illegibly perplexing handwriting; nevertheless, extraordinary pharmaceutical intellectuality, counterbalancing indecipherability, transcendentalizes intercommunications' incomprehensibleness.

User avatar
Gowerly
Toad
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:11 pm UTC
Location: Leamington Spa, UK.
Contact:

Re: Supreme Commander

Postby Gowerly » Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:05 am UTC

The problem with TA is that it's phenomenally unbalanced on larger maps. Once you've amassed 1000 hawks/vamps then you win.


Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests