Counterpoint

It's only cool if no one's heard of it.

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

Cynwulf

Counterpoint

Postby Cynwulf » Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:27 am UTC

A while ago I discovered that I greatly enjoy counterpoint. I would very much like if you could post your favorite classical or baroque pieces featuring counterpoint. Preferably strings, but I'll take whatever I can get.

For those who have a fuzzy grasp of counterpoint, I give an example (with purdy colors!): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pVadl4ocX0M

Thank you in advance.
L'homme est libre au moment qu'il veut l'être. | Man is free at the instant he wants to be.
- Voltaire

vers

Re: Counterpoint

Postby vers » Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:59 am UTC

i've got no pieces for you...just some advice. I'm studying counterpoint currently as a music performance major.
I don't know if you ever planned on studying counterpoint but don't. It isn't hard, but it is incredibly tedious and mind numbing and will shatter any hopes you have of creating 'good' music...at least in the first few species. The last 2 tend to lighten up.

fun to hear though. good luck in your search.

Masily box

Postby Masily box » Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:24 am UTC

well, I've got to heartily disagree with vers. Species counterpoint study can be a really rewarding experience, and actually it's hard to imagine appreciating much of the art music of the last 500+ years without having studied it. And, actually, I always thought 4th species was a lot more restricting than 3rd species is.