Disposing of books!

A slow, analog alternative to the internet

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

Jorpho

Disposing of books!

Postby Jorpho » Thu Apr 10, 2008 4:21 pm UTC

I have accumulated too many books, and I can hardly stand the thought of hauling them around for the rest of my life. I ought to get rid of some of the books I read when I was younger, too, as I don't think it's worthwhile holding on to them until the mythical day I can pass them on to my own children.

I suppose I could give them to charity, or I could try hauling them to a used bookstore for a pittance. The optimal solution would be some online peer-to-peer book exchange, but I've never tried one before, and a lot of what's on my "To Read" list is a bit obscure anyway. Perhaps someone here can suggest such an exchange that operates in Canada?

A sampler of what's available:

What Might Have Been (Anthology)
Players at the Game of People (John Brunner)
Shadow Puppets (Orson Scott Card)
Shadow of the Giant (Orson Scott Card, hardcover)
Stranger in a Strange Land (Robert A. Heinlein)
Johnny and the Bomb (Terry Pratchett)

ChocloManx

Re: Disposing of books!

Postby ChocloManx » Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:11 pm UTC

Donate them to a library.
Egotist, n. A person of low taste, more interested in himself than in me.
-Ambrose Bierce

"My God, all the matter in the universe has just rapidly expanded outward, in some sort of bang."

Adalwolf

Postby Adalwolf » Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:53 pm UTC

If they are decent quality you could sell them on Amazon or ebay.

Donating to a library is always a nice thing to do.
Live with passion. Die with passion.

Flying Betty

Postby Flying Betty » Thu Apr 10, 2008 11:43 pm UTC

Check out Bookcrossing
Just leave them in airports or anywhere that would be better with more books.
I'd probably just wind up going the used bookstore or library book sale approach
Belial wrote:The future is here, and it is cyberpunk as hell.

parkaboy