Building a computer

The magic smoke.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

stormgren

Building a computer

Postby stormgren » Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:01 am UTC

I'm looking to get a new computer, and I want to build my own. I've never done so before. So far I've got this:
http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/wis ... er=7707687

Does anyone have any suggestions either for hardware or advice for building one?

b.i.o
Green is the loneliest number

Postby b.i.o » Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:16 am UTC

Looks pretty good. You might want to go with an E6600 c2d processor as opposed to the one you have though. Really depends on what you're going to be doing with it. If you're going to be playing games or doing something else CPU intensive, I would say go for it. Also I know the E6600 can overclock up to around 2.9GHz stably on my laptop, and one of the motherboard reviews for your board mentions 3.8GHz, which is FAST for that price.

Also, looking back I just realized you don't have a case or a power supply, although you probably already knew that.

As for tips...everything is pretty straightforward in putting it together, just don't despair if it doesn't POST the first time--usually it's just some little mistake you made.

Æshættr

Postby Æshættr » Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:49 am UTC

Indeed it does look good. The only thing I would change is maybe wait to see what AMD's new quad-core chip will offer, and then make a decision. Personally I go with AMD because competition for Intel is good.

b.i.o

Postby b.i.o » Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:17 am UTC

He doesn't really look like he's in the price range for a quad core processor though...

And if he ever plans to play any games at all, the money would be better spent on a graphics card, as those are a lot less likely to increase hugely in power with overclocking, while intels core 2 duos are excellent overclockers.