Breadmaking 101

Apparently, people like to eat.

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

RoadieRich
The Black Hand

Breadmaking 101

Postby RoadieRich » Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:04 pm UTC

Hi everyone. I've decided to experiment with making bread, something I've never tried before.

I've found this recipe, which seems simple enough, and I just thought I'd ask some of the veterans here for pointers: common mistakes, tips and tricks and that sort of thing. Suggestions for better recipes to start with would also be appreciated.

I'm not after anything fancy, just a good foundation to start later experiments from.

Also, I'm not exactly certain what the instructions mean by "knock back". I've seen in the bread thread the instruction to "punch" the dough. I'm assuming it's the same thing, and is to be taken literally (as in "strike with fist"), until the volume has reduced significantly?

I've just realised it could mean punch as in "hole punch", so clarification would be greatly appreciated.
73, de KE8BSL loc EN26.

Nath

Re: Breadmaking 101

Postby Nath » Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:26 pm UTC

I'm no veteran, but I've made bread a couple of times. For a first attempt, it's hard to go wrong with no-knead bread.

And yes, 'knock back' probably means 'punch down'.

PatrickRsGhost

Postby PatrickRsGhost » Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:07 pm UTC

Good starters are your friends.