Things to eat when you suddenly need calories

Apparently, people like to eat.

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

vector

Things to eat when you suddenly need calories

Postby vector » Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:07 am UTC

So, here's the deal. I'm a vegetarian. I'm also a math student who decided to start trying to become a mathematician (i.e., start studying 14+ hours a day), and suddenly I'm hungry all the time. Hence, I computed the caloric increase of "hard thinking/concentration" from "sitting around doing nothing," and it comes out to a whopping 1176 kcal per day.

This is a bit less than twice what I normally burn. I'm female, short, and don't get out much. I also don't have the option of just riding the calorie loss, because I'm already pretty darned thin (5'3.5" and probably around 115 lbs, 20 years of age).

Thus, I pose to you this question: what should I eat to keep myself from constantly feeling hungry? At the moment, I've started getting really hungry three hours after every meal, and wasting a bunch of time eating simply isn't going to fly. Have any advice?
Come visit the Bay12 Mafia subforum: http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?board=20.0

AntonGarou

Re: Things to eat when you suddenly need calories

Postby AntonGarou » Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:22 am UTC

anything with a high fat content should do you good, IIRC.I think that you should just find the most artery-clogging cheese you can and buy a whole load of eat then eat cheese sandwiches.
I'm not nitpicking, I'm quarkpicking!

poxic
Eloquently Prismatic

Postby poxic » Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:40 am UTC

Uh, no. Some cheese is a good filler and pick-me-up, but a whole lot isn't that great.