The next step - Suppliments (fat loss special)

The Food Forum's Evil Twin. Trying to lose weight or get in shape? Tips, encouragement, status reports, and so forth go here.
Disclaimer: Unless otherwise stated, we are not health professionals. Take advice with salt.

Moderators: Mighty Jalapeno, Moderators General, Prelates

Kaf

The next step - Suppliments (fat loss special)

Postby Kaf » Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:09 pm UTC

Well after a long time of being a shadowy lurker I've decided to come out and seek some advice, if you are willing to share!

I'm pretty new to the working out business, only starting to take weight lifting seriously about 2 months ago, and while I'm making progress (can see gains in the amount I can lift, I've gone from utter pansy to respectable pansy) my mind has been turning towards protein shakes etc.

Now the utter hippy that resides within me just tells me that it can't be natural, created in a lab somewhere, I don't need it, look at Marlon Brando didn't need such things when he did street car named desire etc, and after looking at the back of one brand, I couldn't help but think there was a tad of "bro science" involved so my first question is from people who use the shakes, do the benefits outweigh the doubts you have? Or do you prefer getting your protein from tried and tested real food.

My main goal though is to burn fat, as I am what some people may refer to (generously) as tubby and (not so generously) fat, so that was always my goal, fat burn, with a healthy amount of cardio, and starting the Cool running.com couch-to-5k running program, with regular weight sessions, my weight has what I can only described as yo-yo'd like crazy (also probably due to weighing timing and the fact we don't have a kitchen at the moment as its being redone messing with my meals) is this the best way to go about fat burning?