What should my goal(s) be?

The Food Forum's Evil Twin. Trying to lose weight or get in shape? Tips, encouragement, status reports, and so forth go here.
Disclaimer: Unless otherwise stated, we are not health professionals. Take advice with salt.

Moderators: Mighty Jalapeno, Moderators General, Prelates

maninblack
Location: I'm out of my mind at the moment please leave a message after the beep.

What should my goal(s) be?

Postby maninblack » Sun May 01, 2011 5:56 pm UTC

I'm 28, 6'0" and right now I weigh 240lbs. When I *woke up* from a long battle with depression roughly two years ago I weighed 315lbs. (Yeah I've lost 75lbs :-D) My initial goal was to get my weight down to 225. I'm thinking I should lose more weight than that, but idk what my goals should be.

I'm an engineer and spend all my working hours sitting. I am married and have four boys. I want to be healthy (very general). I want to live a long life. I also want to enjoy life. I eat pizza, drink some alcohol (2 or 3 drinks 2 or 3 times per week). I was planning on starting to run when my joints can do it comfortably, but what should my fitness goals be?

I don't want to be a power lifter. I enjoy running so that is where I will likely get my cardio from when my joints can carry me. I don't think I'll do a marathon ever. I want to look good naked but I don't want to spend years in the gym..... idk I guess right now the weight loss alone isn't motivating me. I'm wondering what's next.....

Open to suggestions.
addams wrote:It was like a game of Rugby and I was the Puck. Yeah. I was taking a beating and I was in the wrong game.
roband wrote:If this is a serious question, the answer is no.
If it's a philosophical one, I have no idea.

caje

Re: What should my goal(s) be?

Postby caje » Mon May 02, 2011 12:08 am UTC