Getting a second bachelor's online? (In CS)

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

adanedhel728

Getting a second bachelor's online? (In CS)

Postby adanedhel728 » Sat Dec 13, 2014 5:10 pm UTC

I have a bachelor's in pure math and a master's in applied math, and I currently have a pretty good job. But the industry I work in is tumultuous, so I worry that massive layoffs may come without warning.

Long story short, I'm starting to seriously think about getting a second bachelor's degree to make myself more marketable, in particular Computer Science. If there's a degree program that focuses specifically on software development, I might consider that because I love writing code. (My current job involves a lot of VBA, which I love using.) It's worth mentioning that I've also considered, and am still open to, learning everything that a CS major would learn, but on my own, reading the textbooks.

At any rate, to get to the point, would it be a mistake to get a second bachelor's degree online? I have zero intention of leaving my current job to work on a second bachelor's, so getting the degree online would be much more convenient than going to a university campus. But I worry that getting a degree online would make me less marketable instead of more marketable, if a lot of employers frown upon online degrees.

I read some articles online, but I thought it would be better to get information directly from the horse's mouth, as they say, from people at a place like this.

Bakemaster
pretty nice future dick

Re: Getting a second bachelor's online? (In CS)

Postby Bakemaster » Wed Dec 31, 2014 6:03 am UTC

Sorry for not responding more promptly. I do have an answer for you: Forget about the second Bachelor's degree. Instead, focus on training and certification programs for professionals and postgraduates.