Too Late to Switch Degrees?

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

baultista

Too Late to Switch Degrees?

Postby baultista » Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:19 pm UTC

Prepare yourselves... this is a long read. I'm 20, turning 21 this year.

Alright, so a bit of a background:

All my life I've been into computers. I've always dug anything involving programming, from batch scripts on our Windows 3.1 machine, to HTML/Javascript in elementary school, to Actionscript/VB/Java/C++ in highschool. Until I started playing sports, I would basically come home, burn through my homework, play some videogames, and then get to some hobbyist coding! For the longest while I had wanted to do game design, but later in highschool I started to find myself interested in UI design.

However, I made this ridiculously stupid move in my senior year of highschool and decided that I wanted to be an accountant. That didn't last long, but I still decided not to go into computer science/engineering. Instead, I went into a program called Information Technology Management (basically an IS degree) with a chosen specialization in Applications Development (other choices were Enterprise Planning, Networking, Digital Media, and Databases). It's a co-operative education program, so I was able to get some experience as a developer working with two companies... one was a small company that does video production hardware (did C, Perl, Linux Scripting) and one was a software giant (Java, Batch scripting, Linux scripting).