Ask an English teacher!

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

unus vox

Ask an English teacher!

Postby unus vox » Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:04 pm UTC

Greetings!

As implied by the title, I am an English teacher. That is not to say I am a particularly good one, but I am one nonetheless. In this thread, I implore you to ask me a question. Any question. Really, I don't care if it's about English or not. I will do my best to answer.

Ready, set, go.
Spoiler:

Two-Fry

Re: Ask an English teacher!

Postby Two-Fry » Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:11 pm UTC

What is the point of forcing students to study century old writings that have virtually no relation to modern times? Don't such exercises turn the enjoyable activity of reading into a chore? Also, isn't it a form of structured cultural repression because it forces the culture that older people value onto the younger generation, making it harder for new forms of writing and self expression to arise?
podbaydoor wrote:^What this person said.

Bakemaster
pretty nice future dick

Postby Bakemaster » Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:22 pm UTC

How can you define "new forms of writing and self expression" without first having a definition of existing and past forms?

(Not to steal the OP's thunder.)
c0 = 2.13085531 × 1014 smoots per fortnight
"Apparently you can't summon an alternate timeline clone of your inner demon, guys! Remember that." —Noc

unus vox

Postby unus vox » Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:51 pm UTC

Two-Fry wrote:What is the point of forcing students to study century old writings that have virtually no relation to modern times? Don't such exercises turn the enjoyable activity of reading into a chore? Also, isn't it a form of structured cultural repression because it forces the culture that older people value onto the younger generation, making it harder for new forms of writing and self expression to arise?