Should I switch to engineering?

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Oort

Should I switch to engineering?

Postby Oort » Fri May 07, 2010 12:49 am UTC

I'm a college freshman at UC Berkeley. I'm studying math and physics right now, but i'm concerned about the job market, especially if I don't want to get a master's or go into academia. Switching to mech e would be difficult because I'm a semester behind, but possible. Does anyone have any experience in any of these fields, especially in regards to the job market?

modularblues

Re: Should I switch to engineering?

Postby modularblues » Fri May 07, 2010 8:21 pm UTC

Hmm, I think just with a Bachelor's, engineering is a better bet. I have a few friends with Bachelors in computer science and they have decent programming jobs (in the financial sector) right now. Other engineering fields seem to need at least a Master's.

Math and physics, hmmm... all my friends in these areas are doing PhD's, and the only one I know of with just a Bachelor's in math (from Princeton) is my high school math teacher, who happens to be awesome.

Durin

Postby Durin » Sat May 08, 2010 12:06 am UTC