Should I take Intro Chem?

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

NuclearTide

Should I take Intro Chem?

Postby NuclearTide » Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:57 am UTC

I'm an engineering student in my freshman year of college. I haven't declared my engineering specialization yet, but I have taken calculus and physics in high school and I'm ready to choose. However, my advisor wants me to take intro chem (basically AP Chem) next semester because I don't have AP credits for chemistry, and from what I've heard, intro chem is a total waste of time. So should I take intro chem, or is the material something I could learn by watching KhanAcademy videos on YouTube?

ahazaq2

Re: Should I take Intro Chem?

Postby ahazaq2 » Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:22 am UTC

I would imagine it's required for graduation, but if it's not then you've just gotta figure out whether it's going to be important for what you're majoring in. If you're majoring in electrical, then might as well get out of it if you can. If you're majoring in chemical, then you probably don't wanna get out of it.

And intro chem is usually one of those things you can teach yourself if you try, but the key is "if you try." And most people probably won't take the effort.

jmorgan3

Postby jmorgan3 » Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:39 am UTC

NuclearTide wrote:I'm an engineering student in my freshman year of college. I haven't declared my engineering specialization yet, but I have taken calculus and physics in high school and I'm ready to choose. However, my advisor wants me to take intro chem (basically AP Chem) next semester because I don't have AP credits for chemistry, and from what I've heard, intro chem is a total waste of time. So should I take intro chem, or is the material something I could learn by watching KhanAcademy videos on YouTube?