Upper Division math for Computer Science Major

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

2ck

Upper Division math for Computer Science Major

Postby 2ck » Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:57 pm UTC

I'm a sophomore selecting my courses for the fall semester and my advisor suggests that I take my required upper-division math this fall. I don't know which I should take though.

I think I want to do machine learning in terms of CS, but I'm not really sure. I've done calculus, introductory linear algebra, and a couple of classes where we did formal proofs, but I don't know what would be most helpful at this point.

What course would be most helpful for 2nd year CS major?

Meem1029

Re: Upper Division math for Computer Science Major

Postby Meem1029 » Tue Apr 17, 2012 3:30 am UTC

I'd say probably Graph Theory.
cjmcjmcjmcjm wrote:If it can't be done in an 80x24 terminal, it's not worth doing

freakish777

Postby freakish777 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 1:57 pm UTC

2ck wrote:I'm a sophomore selecting my courses for the fall semester and my advisor suggests that I take my required upper-division math this fall. I don't know which I should take though.

I think I want to do machine learning in terms of CS, but I'm not really sure. I've done calculus, introductory linear algebra, and a couple of classes where we did formal proofs, but I don't know what would be most helpful at this point.

What course would be most helpful for 2nd year CS major?

A list of available classes would be helpful.

A class that covers Bayes Theorem would (likely) be very helpful (hence the Graph Theory suggestion from Meem1029). A Statistics class would be also useful for the topic of Probability.

If there's a Fuzzy Logic class at your school, that would also be incredibly helpful.

gorcee

Postby gorcee » Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:21 pm UTC