What-if 0082: "Hitting a Comet"

What if there was a forum for discussing these?

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

ucim

What-if 0082: "Hitting a Comet"

Postby ucim » Thu Feb 06, 2014 2:46 am UTC

Hitting a comet
what-if wrote:Would you rather bet a million dollars on a spacecraft landing engineer's ability to successfully perform eye surgery, or an eye surgeon's ability to land a probe on a comet?

I'm a pilot, and my friend is a sailor. We have this idea that he'd sail to Montauk Point, I'd fly there, and then we'd trade keys.

Bets on who makes it home first, and who dies.

Jose
Last edited by ucim on Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:17 am UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Order of the Sillies, Honoris Causam - bestowed by charlie_grumbles on NP 859 * OTTscar winner: Wordsmith - bestowed by yappobiscuts and the OTT on NP 1832 * Ecclesiastical Calendar of the Order of the Holy Contradiction * Heartfelt thanks from addams and from me - you really made a difference.

Jeffrey3527

Re: What-if 0082: Hitting a Comet

Postby Jeffrey3527 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:09 am UTC

It's pretty obvious an eye surgeon has a better chance to land a probe on a comet. While the eye surgeon has Kerbal Space Program to practice and simulate his experience, all a spacecraft engineer would have at hand is Surgeon Simulator. Sure, KSP doesn't have comets to land on (Yet) and SS doesn't have Laser Eye Surgery, but what he learns in KSP is far more usable than what SS can provide.

rjsteg

Re: What-if 0082: "Hitting a Comet"

Postby rjsteg » Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:54 am UTC

OK. I'll bite.

Why is it impossible to throw (launch) a baseball from NYC to San Fran?

Is it because it will burn up from reentry?

Curious,
Randy

ucim

Postby ucim » Thu Feb 06, 2014 4:40 am UTC

rjsteg wrote:Is it because it will burn up from reentry?