How do the Theists explain the holocaust

For the serious discussion of weighty matters and worldly issues. No off-topic posts allowed.

Moderators: Azrael, Moderators General, Prelates

kidwithshirt

How do the Theists explain the holocaust

Postby kidwithshirt » Tue Dec 04, 2007 2:44 am UTC

First off let me make myself understandable first. I am a high school student who started reading "Night" for an English class. Since I am always interested in fully understanding what I am reading, I tend to ask a lot of questions about the books I am reading.

But back on the topic, how do the Jews like to think why the holocaust happened? I know that a large portion of the Jews who were sent into the camps were very strong in their faith. But I would like to know how they would explain why would God do such terrible thing to their people?

I know that in fact a lot of them lost their faith in God after the holocaust, many of the survivors today don't even believe in their religion anymore. So I think for these individuals, they would just explain that: okay, there is no God, I am just an unlucky person who were born into the wrong race at the wrong time.

But let's go back to the people who still were faithful after their survival, or even the Jewish community today. Do they just believe that Hitler was just one of God's anomalies?