Questions and Thoughts about Education

For the serious discussion of weighty matters and worldly issues. No off-topic posts allowed.

Moderators: Azrael, Moderators General, Prelates

furyguitar

Questions and Thoughts about Education

Postby furyguitar » Mon Oct 11, 2010 3:26 pm UTC

I am currently a chorus teacher in a public middle school. I care deeply about the state of American Education, both public and private. Education is something that is getting a lot of attention right now, with cover stories on Time, Newsweek, and a new movie, Waiting for Superman, to a name a few. We have all heard the statistics about how in a list of developed countries abilities in math and science, we rank in the mid 20's. So I have a litany of questions that I hope to discover the answers to at some point, perhaps with any available help offered by fellow posters.

1. How do schools in other, more "successful" countries deal with students with special needs? In this country, the public schools accept EVERYBODY. Private schools, charter schools, etc can be more selective. The public schools will take the students with social disorders, mental disorders and the like. Once upon a time, not every child went to school. The integration and inclusiveness of schools is a relatively new and gradual thing. So how does Sweden's schools deal with the autistic?

2. What is the state of parental involvement in the schools of higher achieving countries? Are parents involved with their student children? Do parents care about their children's education? Are parents involved in the schools themselves? When there is any sort of problem here, the public loves to turn to the schools/teachers as the problem. But I wonder, with sad state of reading comprehension I see, are parents reading with their kids at home? With what kind of skills and experiences are the children entering elementary school? I know my mother was reading with me and working on spelling before I ever stepped foot in a school.